Babak S. Sani

Partner
Services: Intellectual Property; Patent Counseling & Prosecution; Acquisition Due Diligence; Licensing; Transactional Intellectual Property
Industries: Semiconductors & Electronics; Technology & Software; Telecommunications

Babak Sani focuses his practice on intellectual property law with emphasis on the evaluation and analysis of patents and other IP assets in the contexts of licensing, technology transfers, acquisitions and litigation. He counsels clients on risks and opportunities presented by patent portfolios that often include international rights and involve global markets.

Mr. Sani has conducted patent license negotiations on behalf of or adverse to some of the largest corporations in the electronics industry including AMD, Ericsson, Fairchild Semiconductor, Freescale, Fujitsu, HTC, Hitachi, SK hynix, IBM, Infineon, Intel, LSI Logic, Motorola, NEC, Nanya Technology, NXP Semiconductor, Seiko Epson, Sharp, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, and Xerox. This aspect of his practice has also involved non-practicing entities including Conversant IP, IP Value, Longitude Licensing, Round Rock Research, RPX, among others, as well as several patent brokers and auctioneers.

A seasoned patent prosecutor, Mr. Sani has handled reexaminations and reissues at the USPTO and directed oppositions abroad. He has developed international portfolios for some of the world’s leading companies in semiconductor memories, mobile media devices, graphics processors and discrete power devices, as well as for smaller start-up companies in the telecommunications industry. Over the years, he has drafted and procured hundreds of patents in a variety of technologies, including analog and digital integrated circuits, semiconductor devices and processing, microprocessors, telecommunications, image processing and consumer electronics.

Prior to joining the firm, Mr. Sani held engineering and managerial positions in the semiconductor industry for more than six years. His engineering career primarily focused on the design of analog and digital integrated circuits for telecommunication applications, working as a circuit designer and project manager, first at Exar Corporation and then at Sierra Semiconductor (now PMC Sierra).

Mr. Sani is a member of the firm’s Executive Committee. He is an adjunct professor at the University of California Hastings College of the Law where he teaches international patent law. Mr. Sani has been recognized by Super Lawyers magazine as a Northern California “Super Lawyer” from 2006 to 2015. He was named a 2013, 2014 and 2015 “IP Star” by Managing Intellectual Property magazine. Mr. Sani is fluent in Farsi.

Professional & Community Activities
American Bar Association
American Intellectual Property Law Association
Bar Association of San Francisco
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineer

Education
University of California, Hastings College of the Law, J.D. (1992)
Santa Clara University, M.S., Electronics and Communications (1986)
University of California, Berkeley, B.S., Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (1983)

Bar Admissions
California (1992)

Admissions
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (1993)

Intellectual Property counsel to NewPort Communications
Served as lead IP counsel to the founders of NewPort Communications (NewPort), a venture-backed start-up company, to devise and execute an IP strategy for the company. NewPort was later acquired by Broadcom Corporation for $1.24B, with Broadcom asserting NewPort’s patents in subsequent litigation.

International enforcement for Apple Inc.
Assisted Apple, Inc. (Apple) in a successful enforcement campaign in Europe by obtaining quick and powerful utility models in Germany. Working closely with German associates the effort resulted in manufacturers joining Apple’s licensing program within a few months.

Patent license negotiations for electronics company
Represented a large foreign-based manufacturer of consumer electronics goods in protracted patent license negotiations against the dominant corporation in a multi-billion dollar electronics industry. Facing a much larger and formidable team of lawyers and technical experts we were able to achieve an unprecedented negotiated settlement resulting in payments of well over a hundred million dollars to our client.

 

The Patent Market: How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio, 2016 Patent Law Forum, October 28, 2016, Tokyo, Japan

The Patent Market: How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio, Intellectual Property Law Seminar, October 25, 2016, Shanghai, China

The Utility of Utility Models: What, When and How, August 2011

Print Friendly
save
Share

Babak Sani focuses his practice on intellectual property law with emphasis on the evaluation and analysis of patents and other IP assets in the contexts of licensing, technology transfers, acquisitions and litigation. He counsels clients on risks and opportunities presented by patent portfolios that often include international rights and involve global markets.

Mr. Sani has conducted patent license negotiations on behalf of or adverse to some of the largest corporations in the electronics industry including AMD, Ericsson, Fairchild Semiconductor, Freescale, Fujitsu, HTC, Hitachi, SK hynix, IBM, Infineon, Intel, LSI Logic, Motorola, NEC, Nanya Technology, NXP Semiconductor, Seiko Epson, Sharp, Texas Instruments, Toshiba, and Xerox. This aspect of his practice has also involved non-practicing entities including Conversant IP, IP Value, Longitude Licensing, Round Rock Research, RPX, among others, as well as several patent brokers and auctioneers.

A seasoned patent prosecutor, Mr. Sani has handled reexaminations and reissues at the USPTO and directed oppositions abroad. He has developed international portfolios for some of the world’s leading companies in semiconductor memories, mobile media devices, graphics processors and discrete power devices, as well as for smaller start-up companies in the telecommunications industry. Over the years, he has drafted and procured hundreds of patents in a variety of technologies, including analog and digital integrated circuits, semiconductor devices and processing, microprocessors, telecommunications, image processing and consumer electronics.

Prior to joining the firm, Mr. Sani held engineering and managerial positions in the semiconductor industry for more than six years. His engineering career primarily focused on the design of analog and digital integrated circuits for telecommunication applications, working as a circuit designer and project manager, first at Exar Corporation and then at Sierra Semiconductor (now PMC Sierra).

Mr. Sani is a member of the firm’s Executive Committee. He is an adjunct professor at the University of California Hastings College of the Law where he teaches international patent law. Mr. Sani has been recognized by Super Lawyers magazine as a Northern California “Super Lawyer” from 2006 to 2015. He was named a 2013, 2014 and 2015 “IP Star” by Managing Intellectual Property magazine. Mr. Sani is fluent in Farsi.

Professional & Community Activities
American Bar Association
American Intellectual Property Law Association
Bar Association of San Francisco
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineer

Education
University of California, Hastings College of the Law, J.D. (1992)
Santa Clara University, M.S., Electronics and Communications (1986)
University of California, Berkeley, B.S., Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (1983)

Bar Admissions
California (1992)

Admissions
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (1993)

Intellectual Property counsel to NewPort Communications
Served as lead IP counsel to the founders of NewPort Communications (NewPort), a venture-backed start-up company, to devise and execute an IP strategy for the company. NewPort was later acquired by Broadcom Corporation for $1.24B, with Broadcom asserting NewPort’s patents in subsequent litigation.

International enforcement for Apple Inc.
Assisted Apple, Inc. (Apple) in a successful enforcement campaign in Europe by obtaining quick and powerful utility models in Germany. Working closely with German associates the effort resulted in manufacturers joining Apple’s licensing program within a few months.

Patent license negotiations for electronics company
Represented a large foreign-based manufacturer of consumer electronics goods in protracted patent license negotiations against the dominant corporation in a multi-billion dollar electronics industry. Facing a much larger and formidable team of lawyers and technical experts we were able to achieve an unprecedented negotiated settlement resulting in payments of well over a hundred million dollars to our client.

 

The Patent Market: How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio, 2016 Patent Law Forum, October 28, 2016, Tokyo, Japan

The Patent Market: How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio, Intellectual Property Law Seminar, October 25, 2016, Shanghai, China

The Utility of Utility Models: What, When and How, August 2011

CONTACT ME

Eighth Floor, Two Embarcadero Center
San Francisco, California, 94111
415 273 4751

DISCLAIMER


While we are pleased to have you contact us by telephone, surface mail, electronic mail, or by facsimile transmission, contacting Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP or any of its attorneys does not create an attorney-client relationship. The formation of an attorney-client relationship requires consideration of multiple factors, including possible conflicts of interest. An attorney-client relationship is formed only when both you and the Firm have agreed to proceed with a defined engagement.

DO NOT CONVEY TO US ANY INFORMATION YOU REGARD AS CONFIDENTIAL UNTIL A FORMAL CLIENT-ATTORNEY RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

If you do convey information, you recognize that we may review and disclose the information, and you agree that even if you regard the information as highly confidential and even if it is transmitted in a good faith effort to retain us, such a review does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could be used against you.

PROCEED

×

CONTACT US

DISCLAIMER

While we are pleased to have you contact us by telephone, surface mail, electronic mail, or by facsimile transmission, contacting Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP or any of its attorneys does not create an attorney-client relationship. The formation of an attorney-client relationship requires consideration of multiple factors, including possible conflicts of interest. An attorney-client relationship is formed only when both you and the Firm have agreed to proceed with a defined engagement.

DO NOT CONVEY TO US ANY INFORMATION YOU REGARD AS CONFIDENTIAL UNTIL A FORMAL CLIENT-ATTORNEY RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

If you do convey information, you recognize that we may review and disclose the information, and you agree that even if you regard the information as highly confidential and even if it is transmitted in a good faith effort to retain us, such a review does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could be used against you.

×

博百柯· S · 萨尼

合伙人
服务:知识产权;专利咨询及申请;并购尽职调查;许可;交易型知识产权
行业:半导体及电子产品;技术及软件;电信

博百柯 · 萨尼主要从事知识产权法律工作,侧重于在许可、技术转让、并购和诉讼情形下对专利及其他知识产权资产进行评估与分析。他为客户提供有关专利组合(通常包括国际权利并涉及全球市场)风险与机遇的咨询。

萨尼先生已代表或面向电子行业一些最大型的企业展开专利许可谈判,包括超微半导体、爱立信、飞兆半导体、飞思卡尔、富士通、宏达电、日立、海力士、国际商用机器、英飞凌、英特尔、美商巨积、摩托罗拉、日本电气、南亚科技、恩智浦半导体、精工爱普生、夏普、德州仪器、东芝和施乐。他在这方面的工作还涉及专利授权公司,包括 Conversant IP、IP 价值、经度许可、圆石研究、RPX 等,以及数家专利代理行和拍卖行。

萨尼先生是一位经验丰富的专利申请人,已在美国专利商标局办理多项再审查及重新领证业务,并曾指导应对国外专利商标异议。他已为半导体存储器、移动媒体设备、图形处理器和分离式功率元件等领域一些世界领先的公司,以及电信行业的小型创业公司开发过国际组合。多年来,他已起草且获得数百项技术专利,包括数模集成电路、半导体器件与加工、微处理机、电信、图像处理与消费电子产品等。

加入事务所之前,萨尼先生在半导体行业担任工程与管理职位超过六年。关于工程方面,他主要从事电信应用领域的数模集成电路设计,曾作为电路设计师和项目经理,先后在艾科嘉公司和塞拉半导体(如今是 PMC 塞拉)工作。

萨尼先生是事务所的执行委员会成员。他还是加州大学哈斯汀法学院的兼职教授,负责教国际专利法。Sani 先生被《超级律师》杂志评为 2006年至 2015 年北加州 “超级律师” 之一。并且被《知识产权管理》杂志评为 2013 年、2014 年和 2015 年 “知识产权之星”。Sani 先生精通波斯语。

专业及社区活动
美国律师协会
美国知识产权法律协会
旧金山律师协会
美国电气和电子工程师协会

教育
加州大学哈斯汀法学院法学博士学位 (1992 年)
圣塔克拉拉大学电子与通信硕士学位 (1986年)
加州大学伯克利分校电气工程与计算机科学学士学位 (1983 年)

行业执业许可
加利福尼亚 (1992)

获准执业
美国专利商标局 (1993)

担任 NewPort Communications 的知识产权律师
担任 NewPort Communications (NewPort)(该公司是以风险资本为支持的创业公司)创始人的首席知识产权律师,为该公司设计与执行知识产权策略。NewPort 后来以 12.4 亿美元的价格被 Broadcom Corporation 公司收购,Broadcom 在后来的诉讼中维护 NewPort 的专利。

为苹果公司 (Apple Inc.) 开展国际执法
在欧洲的一场成功的执法运动中,通过在德国获得快速和强大的实用新型专利,向苹果公司提供协助。在德国的同伴密切合作下,最终迫使制造商在几个月内加入了苹果的许可计划。

为电子公司开展专利许可谈判
在针对一家在几十亿美元的电子产品行业占主导地位公司开展受保护的专利许可谈判中,代表一家大型外国消费电子产品制造商。面对一个规模更大且令人敬畏的律师及技术专家团队时,我们能够实现了前所未有的协商解决,使我们的客户得到好数亿美元的付款。

 

专利市场:如何增强和最大化您的专利组合的价值 (How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio),2016专利法论坛,2016 年 10 月 28 日,日本东京

专利市场:如何增强和最大化您的专利组合的价值 (How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio),知识产权法研讨会,2016 年 10 月 25 日,中国上海

实用新型的效用:内容、时间和方式,2011 年 8 月

打印专用
保存
分享

博百柯 · 萨尼主要从事知识产权法律工作,侧重于在许可、技术转让、并购和诉讼情形下对专利及其他知识产权资产进行评估与分析。他为客户提供有关专利组合(通常包括国际权利并涉及全球市场)风险与机遇的咨询。

萨尼先生已代表或面向电子行业一些最大型的企业展开专利许可谈判,包括超微半导体、爱立信、飞兆半导体、飞思卡尔、富士通、宏达电、日立、海力士、国际商用机器、英飞凌、英特尔、美商巨积、摩托罗拉、日本电气、南亚科技、恩智浦半导体、精工爱普生、夏普、德州仪器、东芝和施乐。他在这方面的工作还涉及专利授权公司,包括 Conversant IP、IP 价值、经度许可、圆石研究、RPX 等,以及数家专利代理行和拍卖行。

萨尼先生是一位经验丰富的专利申请人,已在美国专利商标局办理多项再审查及重新领证业务,并曾指导应对国外专利商标异议。他已为半导体存储器、移动媒体设备、图形处理器和分离式功率元件等领域一些世界领先的公司,以及电信行业的小型创业公司开发过国际组合。多年来,他已起草且获得数百项技术专利,包括数模集成电路、半导体器件与加工、微处理机、电信、图像处理与消费电子产品等。

加入事务所之前,萨尼先生在半导体行业担任工程与管理职位超过六年。关于工程方面,他主要从事电信应用领域的数模集成电路设计,曾作为电路设计师和项目经理,先后在艾科嘉公司和塞拉半导体(如今是 PMC 塞拉)工作。

萨尼先生是事务所的执行委员会成员。他还是加州大学哈斯汀法学院的兼职教授,负责教国际专利法。Sani 先生被《超级律师》杂志评为 2006年至 2015 年北加州 “超级律师” 之一。并且被《知识产权管理》杂志评为 2013 年、2014 年和 2015 年 “知识产权之星”。Sani 先生精通波斯语。

专业及社区活动
美国律师协会
美国知识产权法律协会
旧金山律师协会
美国电气和电子工程师协会

教育
加州大学哈斯汀法学院法学博士学位 (1992 年)
圣塔克拉拉大学电子与通信硕士学位 (1986年)
加州大学伯克利分校电气工程与计算机科学学士学位 (1983 年)

行业执业许可
加利福尼亚 (1992)

获准执业
美国专利商标局 (1993)

担任 NewPort Communications 的知识产权律师
担任 NewPort Communications (NewPort)(该公司是以风险资本为支持的创业公司)创始人的首席知识产权律师,为该公司设计与执行知识产权策略。NewPort 后来以 12.4 亿美元的价格被 Broadcom Corporation 公司收购,Broadcom 在后来的诉讼中维护 NewPort 的专利。

为苹果公司 (Apple Inc.) 开展国际执法
在欧洲的一场成功的执法运动中,通过在德国获得快速和强大的实用新型专利,向苹果公司提供协助。在德国的同伴密切合作下,最终迫使制造商在几个月内加入了苹果的许可计划。

为电子公司开展专利许可谈判
在针对一家在几十亿美元的电子产品行业占主导地位公司开展受保护的专利许可谈判中,代表一家大型外国消费电子产品制造商。面对一个规模更大且令人敬畏的律师及技术专家团队时,我们能够实现了前所未有的协商解决,使我们的客户得到好数亿美元的付款。

 

专利市场:如何增强和最大化您的专利组合的价值 (How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio),2016专利法论坛,2016 年 10 月 28 日,日本东京

专利市场:如何增强和最大化您的专利组合的价值 (How to Strengthen and Maximize the Value of Your Portfolio),知识产权法研讨会,2016 年 10 月 25 日,中国上海

实用新型的效用:内容、时间和方式,2011 年 8 月

联系方式

Eighth Floor, Two Embarcadero Center
San Francisco, California, 94111
415 273 4751

免责声明


我们很乐意接受您通过电话、平邮、电子邮件或者传真联系我们,但是联系凯拓国际律师事务所或者其任何律师并不构成律师-客户关系。律师-客户关系的建立需要考虑多种因素,包括可能的利益冲突。当您与本事务所已经同意开始执行确定的约定时,才能形成律师-客户关系。

在我们之间确定了律师-客户关系前,请不要将您视为保密的任何信息传达给我们。

如果您传达了该等信息,您确认我们可以审查并披露该等信息,您同意即使您将该等信息视为高度机密且为了雇用我们以善意的方式传播,该等审查不妨碍我们代理另外一名直接对您不利的客户,甚至将该等信息用于对您不利的事务中。

继续

×

联系我们

免责声明

我们很乐意接受您通过电话、平邮、电子邮件或者传真联系我们,但是联系凯拓国际律师事务所或者其任何律师并不构成律师-客户关系。律师-客户关系的建立需要考虑多种因素,包括可能的利益冲突。当您与本事务所已经同意开始执行确定的约定时,才能形成律师-客户关系。

在我们之间确定了律师-客户关系前,请不要将您视为保密的任何信息传达给我们。

如果您传达了该等信息,您确认我们可以审查并披露该等信息,您同意即使您将该等信息视为高度机密且为了雇用我们以善意的方式传播,该等审查不妨碍我们代理另外一名直接对您不利的客户,甚至将该等信息用于对您不利的事务中。

×
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software