Transactional Intellectual Property

Intellectual property continues to grow in importance worldwide, with geographic barriers to commerce dissolving as technology and communication systems evolve. Increasingly, intellectual property has become one of the most valuable and durable assets a company may possess. Recognizing and exploiting the value of such assets can mean the difference between surviving and thriving.

We have assisted clients in a range of industries with leveraging the value of their intellectual assets and assessing and valuing intellectual property obsolescence risks. Our attorneys are experienced in assisting clients with licensing, joint ventures, recapitalization, mergers and acquisitions, and technology transfer agreements. We have counseled on pre- and post-transaction issues including division of customers and territories, and non-compete agreements.

We work collaboratively with our clients to understand and support their business goals. Once we have identified the value-drivers for our client, we will help them assess whether the intellectual property position will support or detract from those drivers and assist our client in refining their deal strategy.

AQUISITION DUE DILIGENCE

Pure IP due diligence: This due diligence includes ascertaining the scope of coverage of the target’s patents, the validity and enforceability of such patents, identifying key competitors and their key patents, examination of existing license agreements and disputes, identifying government rights, status of trademark use and enforcement, cataloging existing know-how among key employees and much more.

Typical issues we see include: IP not assigned by founders or contractors; unlimited indemnity, narrower scope of protection than advertised or cover only discontinued products; already licensed to competitors of acquirer.

IP and related due diligence: In addition to the IP due diligence, we can review IP related agreements to identify indemnity obligations, which contracts are terminable upon acquisition, etc. We’ve integrated our skilled corporate attorneys with our renowned intellectual property attorneys to provide a unique and valuable service not readily found in the market. This can provide efficiencies in the review.

Complete due diligence: With our skilled corporate attorneys, we can do any other aspect of the due diligence for the project as well. We’ve integrated our skilled corporate attorneys with our renowned intellectual property attorneys to provide a unique and valuable service not readily found in the market.

Assistance we provide includes:

  • Identifying the structure of the proposed transaction
  • Reviewing the extent of the exclusivity of the intellectual property assets in the marketplace
  • Isolating potential exposure to liability
  • Advising on licensing options
  • Counseling on tax implications

This due diligence includes ascertaining the scope of coverage of the target’s patents, the validity and enforceability of such patents, identifying key competitors and their key patents, examination of existing license agreements and disputes, identifying government rights, status of trademark use and enforcement, cataloging existing know-how among key employees and much more.

LICENSING

The firm has extensive experience representing both intellectual property licensors and licensees in connection with transactions, joint ventures and merchandising programs. We represent technology developers and owners who wish to commercialize their intellectual property, as well as businesses that require cutting-edge solutions to improve current business processes or to support new business offerings. We have structured strategic plans for licensors that maximize their benefit, while protecting the integrity and value of the brand. We have found creative solutions that balance the quality control concerns of a technology or brand owner with the licensee’s ability to operate its business effectively.

We assist throughout the licensing cycle, from assessing the assets, to developing strategy, to carefully crafting the agreements and effectively managing the relationship. We are experienced in highly specialized areas such as open source software, privacy and security issues and competitive bidding. Many of our attorneys have significant experience in particular industries and are familiar with the unique issues impacting those industries.

PATENT VALUATION

Our patent valuation practice combines legal, technical, financial and industry analysis to provide clear and realistic input for our clients looking to buy, sell or license patent portfolio assets, as well as to optimize their own patent portfolios.

We have developed an analytical framework that starts with broad-based product, technology and strategic research and aligns it with our legal analysis of patent claim elements. Based on this alignment, we conduct one or more quantitative analyses depending on our client’s particular situation or proposed transactions. Our approach provides more insight and is more useful than automated programs that rely on facile metrics, such as the number of times a patent is cited by other patents, since mere statistical tools avoid claim-level analysis entirely. For example, statistical tools do not inform a potential buyer if the claims in a patent cover obsolete technology.

Our patent valuation team is part of one of the largest and most respected patent prosecution and litigation practices in the U.S. We have technical backgrounds in a wide array of relevant fields, as well as transactional attorneys well-versed in market trends and experienced in closing patent-related business deals of all types. Our in-house research staff provides efficient support. We also maintain a broad and deep network of subject matter experts, financial analysts and international affiliates to assist with particular aspects of each engagement.

Print Friendly
save
Share
DISCLAIMER

While we are pleased to have you contact us by telephone, surface mail, electronic mail, or by facsimile transmission, contacting Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP or any of its attorneys does not create an attorney-client relationship. The formation of an attorney-client relationship requires consideration of multiple factors, including possible conflicts of interest. An attorney-client relationship is formed only when both you and the Firm have agreed to proceed with a defined engagement.

DO NOT CONVEY TO US ANY INFORMATION YOU REGARD AS CONFIDENTIAL UNTIL A FORMAL CLIENT-ATTORNEY RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

If you do convey information, you recognize that we may review and disclose the information, and you agree that even if you regard the information as highly confidential and even if it is transmitted in a good faith effort to retain us, such a review does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could be used against you.

×

交易知识产权

随着技术和通信系统的发展,商业的地理障碍正在消除,知识产权在全球的重要性继续增强。知识产权已经日益成为一家公司可能拥有的最有价值且持久耐用的一种资产。确认与利用该等资产的价值可能意味着生存与繁荣之间的差距。

我们已在多个行业帮助客户利用知识产权资产的价值,并评价与重视知识产权过时的风险。我们的律师在帮助顾客处理授权许可、合资企业、资本重组、合并与收购以及技术转让协议等方面有着丰富的经验。我们处理过交易前和交易后的诸多问题,包括客户和区域划分,以及竞业禁止协议。

我们与客户合作,以理解并支持他们的企业目标。一旦我们已经为客户确定了价值驱动因素,我们将帮助他们评估知识产权的地位是否支持驱动因素或会因这些驱动因素而减损,是否可以在改善他们的交易策略方面能帮助我们的客户。

收购尽职调查

纯知识产权尽职调查:该尽职调查包括确定目标专利的覆盖范围、该等专利的有效性与可执行性、确定关键竞争者及其主要专利、审查现有许可协议与争议、确定政府权利、商标使用与执行的状态、在主要员工之间对现有专有技术进行分类以及更多。

我们发现的典型问题包括:不是创始人或者缔约人转让的知识产权;无限额赔偿、保护范围比公布的要小或者只覆盖停产产品;已经授权给收购者的竞争者。

知识产权与相关尽职调查:除了知识产权尽职调查,我们可以审核知识产权相关协议,确定补偿义务,该等合同可在收购时终止等。我们已经整合我们技能娴熟的公司业务律师与著名的知识产权律师,以提供一种独特、有价值但不能在市场中容易获得的服务。这在审核时可产生效率。

完整的知识产权尽职调查:有了我们技能娴熟的公司业务律师,我们还可以做项目尽职调查的任何其他方面。我们已经整合我们技能娴熟的公司业务律师与著名的知识产权律师,以提供一种独特、有价值但不能在市场中容易获得的服务。

我们提供的协助包括:

  • 明确拟议交易的结构
  • 审查知识产权资产在市场中的排他性程度
  • 远离潜在的责任敞口
  • 就许可选择提供建议
  • 就税务问题提供咨询

该尽职调查包括确定目标专利的覆盖范围、该等专利的有效性与可执行性、确定关键竞争者及其主要专利、审查现有许可协议与争议、确定政府权利、商标使用与执行的状态、在主要员工之间对现有专有技术进行分类以及更多。

许可

本律师事务所在代理与交易、合资企业和销售计划相关的知识产权许可人与被许可人方面均有丰富的经验。我们代表希望将他们的知识产权商业化的技术开发者与所有者,以及需要尖端解决方案改善现有业务流程或支持新企业产品的企业。我们在保护品牌诚信与价值的同时,为许可人制订了使他们的利益最大化的战略计划。我们已找到创造性的解决方案,通过被许可方有效经营业务的能力,平衡某项技术或品牌所有者对质量控制方面的顾虑。

我们在从评估资产到制定策略再到认真起草协议和有效管理关系的整个许可周期内提供帮助。我们在高度专业的领域富有经验,如开源软件、隐私与安全问题以及竞标。我们的一些律师在某些行业有重要的经验,熟知影响这些行业的独特问题。

专利评估

我们的专利评估业务结合了法律、技术、财务和行业分析,为期望购买、出售或许可使用专利组合资产以及优化其自有专利组合的客户提供清晰、确实的意见。

我们已经开发了一个分析框架,它以基础广泛的产品、技术与战略研究开始,与我们的专利索赔要素的法律分析相一致。基于这种一致性,我们开展一项或多项定量分析,分析取决于我们客户或者拟议交易的具体情况。我们的方法提供更深入的洞察,比依赖浅显指标的自动程序更为有用,例如一项专利被其他专利引用的次数,因为仅用统计工具就可以完全避免索赔级别分析。例如,如果对某项专利的索赔包括过时的技术,分析工具不会通知可能的购买者。

我们的专利评估团队构成美国最大和最受尊敬的专利审查和诉讼执业团队之一的一部分。我们在一系列相关领域拥有技术背景,拥有熟知市场趋势的交易律师并在达成专利相关的各种交易方面拥有丰富的经验。我们的内部研究人员提供有效的支持。我们还保持了一个既有广度又有深度的主题专家、财务分析人员和国际联营公司网络,为每项约定的具体方面提供支持。

打印专用
保存
分享
免责声明

我们很乐意接受您通过电话、平邮、电子邮件或者传真联系我们,但是联系凯拓国际律师事务所或者其任何律师并不构成律师-客户关系。律师-客户关系的建立需要考虑多种因素,包括可能的利益冲突。当您与本事务所已经同意开始执行确定的约定时,才能形成律师-客户关系。

在我们之间确定了律师-客户关系前,请不要将您视为保密的任何信息传达给我们。

如果您传达了该等信息,您确认我们可以审查并披露该等信息,您同意即使您将该等信息视为高度机密且为了雇用我们以善意的方式传播,该等审查不妨碍我们代理另外一名直接对您不利的客户,甚至将该等信息用于对您不利的事务中。

×
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software