Biologics and Biosimilars

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Affordable Care Act), signed into law by President Obama on March 23, 2010, amended the Public Health Service Act (PHS Act) to create an abbreviated licensure pathway for biological products that are demonstrated to be “biosimilar” to or “interchangeable” with an FDA-licensed biological product. This pathway is provided in the part of the law known as the Biologics Price Competition and Innovation Act (BPCI Act). Under the BPCI Act, a biological product may be demonstrated to be “biosimilar” if data show that, among other things, the product is “highly similar” to an already-approved biological product. In addition, this pathway sets forth guidelines for the production, use, and sale of these “biosimilars” or “follow-on” biologic therapeutics in the U.S.

The abbreviated pathway comes a quarter century after passage of the Hatch-Waxman Act, which provides an abbreviated pathway in the U.S. for generic drugs (i.e., synthetic chemical entities and small molecule drugs). The U.S. Food and Drug Administration will likely look to the European Medicines Agency, which passed an analogous legislation in 2003, for guidance regarding biosimilars approvals.

Look to Kilpatrick Townsend to advise you regarding biologics and biosimilars. Kilpatrick Townsend counsels with respect to litigating intellectual property issues relating to reference and follow-on biologics, including the abbreviated regulatory pathway for biosimilars. Our attorneys’ legal and technical expertise enables Kilpatrick Townsend to provide valuable insights into the subtleties and complexities necessary to navigate this new and developing area of law and create and grow new business opportunities.

Print Friendly
save
Share
DISCLAIMER

While we are pleased to have you contact us by telephone, surface mail, electronic mail, or by facsimile transmission, contacting Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP or any of its attorneys does not create an attorney-client relationship. The formation of an attorney-client relationship requires consideration of multiple factors, including possible conflicts of interest. An attorney-client relationship is formed only when both you and the Firm have agreed to proceed with a defined engagement.

DO NOT CONVEY TO US ANY INFORMATION YOU REGARD AS CONFIDENTIAL UNTIL A FORMAL CLIENT-ATTORNEY RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

If you do convey information, you recognize that we may review and disclose the information, and you agree that even if you regard the information as highly confidential and even if it is transmitted in a good faith effort to retain us, such a review does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could be used against you.

×

生物制剂和生物仿制药

奥巴马总统于 2010年 3 月 23 日签署为法律的《患者保护与平价医疗法案》(Affordable Care Act) 修订了《公共健康服务法案》(PHS Act),从而为被证明为“生物仿制药”的生物产品和与 FDA 许可的生物制品“可互换”的生物产品简化了获得许可证途径。该途径是在作为《生物制剂价格竞争与创新法》(BPCI Act) 一部分的法律中规定的。根据《生物制剂价格竞争与创新法》,如果数据显示一个生物产品与已获得批准的生物产品“高度相似”时,可被证明为“生物仿制药”。此外,该途径明确了在美国生产、使用以及销售这些“生物仿制药”或“后续”生物治疗学的指南。

简易途径在通过《药品价格竞争与专利期补偿法案》后四分之一世纪才出现,它在美国规定了仿制药(即化学合成原料药和小分子药物)的简易途径。美国食品和药物管理局将很可能向欧洲药品管理局看齐,它于 2003 年通过了一项类似的立法,用来指导生物仿制药的批准。

请求凯拓国际律师事务所向您提供关于生物制剂和生物仿制药的建议。凯拓国际律师事务所提供与生物对照药和仿制药(包括生物仿制药简易监管途径)有关的知识产权方面的诉讼建议。凯拓国际律师事务所的律师具有法律和技术方面的专业知识,能使他们为应对这一发展中的法律领域及其微妙性与复杂性,提供所需的有价值的深刻见解,创造并发展全新的业务机会。

打印专用
保存
分享
免责声明

我们很乐意接受您通过电话、平邮、电子邮件或者传真联系我们,但是联系凯拓国际律师事务所或者其任何律师并不构成律师-客户关系。律师-客户关系的建立需要考虑多种因素,包括可能的利益冲突。当您与本事务所已经同意开始执行确定的约定时,才能形成律师-客户关系。

在我们之间确定了律师-客户关系前,请不要将您视为保密的任何信息传达给我们。

如果您传达了该等信息,您确认我们可以审查并披露该等信息,您同意即使您将该等信息视为高度机密且为了雇用我们以善意的方式传播,该等审查不妨碍我们代理另外一名直接对您不利的客户,甚至将该等信息用于对您不利的事务中。

×
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software