Mergers, Acquisitions, & Strategic Alliances

Growing companies don’t just need lawyers – they need strategic business advisors who possess an understanding of key business drivers and are equipped with the focus and skill necessary to protect their clients’ best interests.

We have extensive experience representing both sellers and buyers of businesses, which allows us to bring efficiency, focus and a high degree of skill to the transaction process. Our continual transaction flow enables us to retain cutting-edge knowledge of “what is market” in the negotiation of the deal terms and management of the process. We ensure that our transaction teams understand and address the underlying tax, accounting and financial objectives of our clients, which often drive these transactions. Since we regularly work with some of the largest global corporations, we respect the relationship between in-house counsel and their internal clients, providing additional resources and in-depth experience as requested to facilitate in-house counsel in fulfilling their mission.

HIGH INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY CONTENT

Our corporate lawyers work together with our intellectual property lawyers on all transactions where intellectual property is central to a deal. The multiple methods of acquiring, protecting and exploiting intellectual property assets – especially across national boundaries – present unique issues that need to be addressed in transactions involving the acquisition or monetization of intellectual property assets. We collaborate to assess the strength of the intellectual property portfolio in question, identify potential defects in the prosecution history, gaps in coverage, and freedom to operate and infringement issues. We also frequently recommend options for more effectively protecting these core assets.

CROSS BORDER

Many years of handling international deals through our offices in the U.S., Europe and Asia, along with our extensive network of international correspondent lawyers, give us an advantage in cross border transactions. We manage transactions throughout North America, as well as in most countries in Europe, Asia and South America. We regularly advise multi-national corporations on tax planning and structuring in connection with multi-transactional acquisitions, divestitures and joint ventures.
JOINT VENTURES & STRATEGIC ALLIANCES

Companies often look to enter new geographic or product markets through joint ventures or strategic alliances rather than by acquisitions or organic growth. Joint ventures and strategic alliances can allow the parties to benefit from their respective technologies, geographic presence and core competencies without the costs of internal development or external acquisition, while mitigating some of the risks of “going it alone.”

We represent clients in the formation of domestic and international joint ventures and strategic alliances in a variety of industries, including telecommunications and cable, media, financial services, manufacturing, food and beverage, healthcare and pharmaceuticals. Our clients have included parties with financial resources or technical expertise teaming with a local partner to access a new market, as well as incumbent businesses seeking external partners to provide growth capital or access to cutting edge products and technology. We have also advised clients in numerous technology pooling and joint development agreements, where the parties combine their existing intellectual property or R&D efforts to develop and exploit new products and technologies. We also advise on structural and tax planning issues, and assist clients in developing workable governance mechanisms for the venture or alliance. We are well-versed in the antitrust and competition law issues raised by such alliances when the parties are actual or potential competitors in other markets.

Print Friendly
save
Share
DISCLAIMER

While we are pleased to have you contact us by telephone, surface mail, electronic mail, or by facsimile transmission, contacting Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP or any of its attorneys does not create an attorney-client relationship. The formation of an attorney-client relationship requires consideration of multiple factors, including possible conflicts of interest. An attorney-client relationship is formed only when both you and the Firm have agreed to proceed with a defined engagement.

DO NOT CONVEY TO US ANY INFORMATION YOU REGARD AS CONFIDENTIAL UNTIL A FORMAL CLIENT-ATTORNEY RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

If you do convey information, you recognize that we may review and disclose the information, and you agree that even if you regard the information as highly confidential and even if it is transmitted in a good faith effort to retain us, such a review does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could be used against you.

×

合并、收购与战略联盟

成长的公司不仅仅需要律师 —— 他们还需要战略商业顾问,该顾问应理解主要业务驱动因素且具备保护该等公司客户最大利益所需的专注与技能。

我们在代理企业卖方与买方方面均具有丰富的经验,这使我们能为交易过程带来效率、关注与高度的技能。我们持续的交易程序使我们可以在谈判交易条款与管理过程中获得关于“什么是市场”的前沿知识。我们确保我们的交易团队理解并关注可能的税收、我们客户的会计与财务目标,它们通常是这些交易的驱动因素。因为我们经常与一些全球大型公司合作,我们尊重内部律师与他们内部客户之间的关系,我们会应要求提供额外的资源与深度经验,从而协助内部律师完成他们的使命。

高级知识产权内容

我们的公司律师与我们的知识产权律师合作开展以知识产权为核心的所有交易。收购、保护与利用知识产权资产的大量方法 —— 特别是跨境收购 —— 在关于收购知识产权资产或使该等资产货币化的交易中造成需要解决的独特问题。我们开展合作以评估所述知识产权组合的优势,在审查过程中明确潜在的瑕疵、覆盖差距、自由经营以及侵权问题。我们经常为了更有效地保护这些核心资产推荐多个选择方案。

跨境

凭借我们美国、欧洲与亚洲办事处多年处理国际交易的经验,以及我们广泛的国际律师网络,这使我们在跨境交易中具有诸多优势。我们在北美全境以及欧洲、亚洲与南美的大多数国家均有交易管理经验。我们经常就跨国收购、分拆与合资企业的税务规划与结构向跨国公司提供建议。
合资企业与战略联盟

公司通常希望通过合资企业或战略联盟而不是通过收购或有机增长进入新的地理或产品市场。合资企业与战略联盟可使双方受益于各自的技术、地理存在和核心竞争力,无需产生内部开发或外部收购的费用,同时也减少了“放单飞”的风险。

我们在各行业成立国内、国际合资企业和战略联盟方面为客户提供代理服务,包括电信与电缆、媒体、金融服务、制造、食品与饮料、医疗保健与制药等行业。我们的客户中包括拥有财务资源或技术专业知识且与当地伙伴合作进入新市场的相关方,还有想找到外部合作伙伴提供增长资本或者获得先进产品与技术的现有企业。我们也曾在多种技术联营与联合开发协议方面为客户提供建议,当事人凭该协议联合已有的知识产权或者研发力量开发和利用新产品和技术。我们还提供关于结构与税务规划问题的建议,帮助客户制订可行的企业或联盟治理机制。我们熟知该等联盟的双方在其他市场成为实际与潜在竞争者时可能产生的反垄断和竞争法律问题。

打印专用
保存
分享
免责声明

我们很乐意接受您通过电话、平邮、电子邮件或者传真联系我们,但是联系凯拓国际律师事务所或者其任何律师并不构成律师-客户关系。律师-客户关系的建立需要考虑多种因素,包括可能的利益冲突。当您与本事务所已经同意开始执行确定的约定时,才能形成律师-客户关系。

在我们之间确定了律师-客户关系前,请不要将您视为保密的任何信息传达给我们。

如果您传达了该等信息,您确认我们可以审查并披露该等信息,您同意即使您将该等信息视为高度机密且为了雇用我们以善意的方式传播,该等审查不妨碍我们代理另外一名直接对您不利的客户,甚至将该等信息用于对您不利的事务中。

×
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software