Employment

LABOR RELATIONS

Practice in the area of traditional labor relations and labor law is one of the strengths of Kilpatrick Townsend. We have maintained a sophisticated, U.S. labor law practice for more than 60 years, and we continue to provide these services to our clients as part of our commitment to representing employers in all aspects of the employment relationship. Our labor lawyers work closely with our clients on the requirements imposed by the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA) and other federal labor laws. We represent employers in representation case and unfair labor practice proceedings before the National Labor Relations Board as well as labor litigation in the federal courts. For clients with unionized work forces, our lawyers negotiate collective bargaining agreements, represent employers in arbitration proceedings and provide legal advice to ensure that our clients’ rights and interests are protected. In the event of a strike or picketing, we counsel employers on the many legal issues associated with such activity and provide rapid-fire responses to striker or picket misconduct, thereby helping our clients maintain operations and minimize the risks of unfair labor practice charges.

For companies facing union organizing drives, we offer comprehensive, sophisticated representation with due regard to the rights of employees and employers. Rather than encourage “scorched earth” tactics based on cookie-cutter campaign recipes, we approach each campaign as an educational process founded on every client’s unique culture. This approach has allowed our clients to achieve success in some of the largest and most challenging union campaigns in the nation.

We also work closely with clients to develop winning labor relations strategies with respect to changes in business structure including acquisitions, mergers, plant closings and reductions in force. In this regard, we partner with our colleagues from other areas of practice including employee benefits and corporate law to make sure we provide comprehensive solutions to our clients’ circumstances. By doing so, we help our clients avoid costly mistakes and oversights that sometimes occur in corporate transactions.

EMPLOYMENT LITIGATION & CLASS ACTIONS

Human Capital is one of the most critical aspects of any organization. An understanding of the laws that govern the workplace can help both employers and their employees mitigate and even prevent inevitable human errors. Although we advocate a proactive approach and advance planning to avoid the expense and disruption of litigation, we are prepared to create the best possible solution for our clients when litigation arises. When litigation becomes inevitable, our lawyers have substantial experience in defending a wide variety of lawsuits alleging violations of federal and state employment laws.

We defend numerous multi-plaintiff or class action cases under Title VII, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), ERISA and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). Our lawyers defended more than 30 employment-related class action or attempted class action lawsuits brought against our clients. In many of these cases, we were able to defeat class certification, thus removing most, if not all of, the potential defense costs and liability from the civil action. In addition, our team represents employers in several collective actions filed under the FLSA and state wage and hour statutes.

In addition to collective and class actions, companies are often fraught with single-plaintiff actions which need to be addressed. We have extensive experience defending employers in lawsuits brought by single plaintiffs alleging employment-related claims in federal and state courts across the country.

Print Friendly
save
Share
DISCLAIMER

While we are pleased to have you contact us by telephone, surface mail, electronic mail, or by facsimile transmission, contacting Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP or any of its attorneys does not create an attorney-client relationship. The formation of an attorney-client relationship requires consideration of multiple factors, including possible conflicts of interest. An attorney-client relationship is formed only when both you and the Firm have agreed to proceed with a defined engagement.

DO NOT CONVEY TO US ANY INFORMATION YOU REGARD AS CONFIDENTIAL UNTIL A FORMAL CLIENT-ATTORNEY RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

If you do convey information, you recognize that we may review and disclose the information, and you agree that even if you regard the information as highly confidential and even if it is transmitted in a good faith effort to retain us, such a review does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could be used against you.

×

雇佣

劳动关系

在传统劳动关系与劳动法领域执业是凯拓国际律师事务所的一个强项。60 年来,我们在美国劳动法执业方面一直保持先进水平,作为我们为雇主全面代理劳动关系承诺的一个部分,我们会继续向我们的客户提供这些服务。我们的劳动法律师与客户密切合作,应对美国《全国劳资关系法案》(NLRA) 及其他联邦劳动法提出的相关要求。我们代理雇主方参与全国劳工关系委员会受理的代表权案件、不当劳动行为的处理程序,以及联邦法院受理的劳动诉讼。对于员工参加工会的客户,我们的律师会参与集体劳动合同的谈判,代表雇用方参加仲裁程序,并提供法律建议,以确保客户的权利和利益得到保护。在发生罢工或罢工纠察的情况下,我们为雇主提供许多关于该等活动法律问题的建议,对罢工者或纠察的不当行为迅速作出反应,由此帮助我们的客户保持经营,尽可能降低不公正的劳动行为损失风险。

对于面临工会组织活动的公司,我们在员工与雇主权利方面提供全面、富有经验的代理服务。我们将每一个活动视为一个建立在每位客户独特文化之上的教育过程,而不是基于千篇一律的方法鼓励对活动采取 “焦土政策”。这种方式使我们的客户在国内的一些最大规模、最具挑战性的工会活动中取得了成功。

我们还与客户密切合作,针对收购、合并、关闭工厂以及减少劳动力等企业结构变更,制订制胜的劳动关系策略。在这方面,我们与来自包括员工福利与公司法等其他执业领域的同事合作,以确保我们针对客户的情况提供全面的解决方案。这样一来,我们帮助客户避免在公司交易中有时出现代价高昂的错误。

劳资诉讼与集体诉讼

人力资源是任何组织的最关键方面之一。理解适用工作场所的法律有助于雇主与员工减少甚至避免必然的人类错误。尽管我们提倡采用积极的方式和提前计划来避免诉讼的费用与干扰,但我们在发生诉讼时为客户制订最好的解决方案。在诉讼不可避免时,我们的律师对指控违反联邦和州雇用法律的各种诉讼拥有丰富的辩护经验。

我们根据《反就业年龄歧视法案》(ADEA) 第七章、《公平劳动标准法案》(FLSA)、《雇员退休收入保障法》(ERISA) 以及《美国残疾人法案》(ADA),为共同诉讼或集体诉讼的众多案件进行辩护。我们的律师为 30 多起针对我们客户提起或拟提起的劳动集体诉讼案件进行了辩护。在许多此类案件中,我们都能在集体诉讼的资格认定中胜出,由此避免了大部分(即便不是全部)民事诉讼招致的潜在辩护成本和责任。此外,我们的团队还在数起根据 FLSA 和各州工资与工时规定提起的共同诉讼中代理资方。

除共同诉讼和集体诉讼外,公司还经常需要解决单个原告提起的诉讼。我们拥有在全国各地联邦法庭和州法庭就单个原告提起的案件为资方进行辩护的丰富经验。

打印专用
保存
分享
免责声明

我们很乐意接受您通过电话、平邮、电子邮件或者传真联系我们,但是联系凯拓国际律师事务所或者其任何律师并不构成律师-客户关系。律师-客户关系的建立需要考虑多种因素,包括可能的利益冲突。当您与本事务所已经同意开始执行确定的约定时,才能形成律师-客户关系。

在我们之间确定了律师-客户关系前,请不要将您视为保密的任何信息传达给我们。

如果您传达了该等信息,您确认我们可以审查并披露该等信息,您同意即使您将该等信息视为高度机密且为了雇用我们以善意的方式传播,该等审查不妨碍我们代理另外一名直接对您不利的客户,甚至将该等信息用于对您不利的事务中。

×
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software