Kilpatrick Townsend Expands Asian Presence with Strategic Move into Beijing

by: Kilpatrick Townsend

Firm Establishes Trademark Agency to Serve Growing Client Needs

ATLANTA and BEIJING (January 14, 2019) Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP announced today that it has opened an office in Beijing, People’s Republic of China. Kilpatrick Townsend’s Beijing office will operate as a trademark agency and will primarily support the strategic client needs of U.S. and European-based brands in the China market. The office will also enable the firm to more closely collaborate with China counsel in the region.

The office is located in the Chaoyang District of Beijing.

Christopher Woods, a co-leader of Kilpatrick Townsend’s Asia Practice Team and head of the China Brands Practice, will serve as the Beijing Office Managing Partner. Shuang Yu, Associate, and Qunfan Chen, Trademark Agent, will also serve as senior members of the office. Other senior members of the China Brands Practice, such as Sindy Ding-Voorhees, Wendy Cheng, and Gwen Kui, will play an active role in the expansion and support of the Beijing office.

“We listen to our clients and our clients are telling us it is important to be on the ground in Beijing. With offices in Shanghai, Tokyo, and now Beijing, we are well positioned to provide solutions for clients on critical branding issues in the Asian market. Our presence in these three key Asian markets also helps us continue to build strong relationships with local counsel in the region,” said Henry Walker, Kilpatrick Townsend Chair.

“Kilpatrick Townsend has long represented the interests of clients who are U.S. brand owners in China. While U.S. brand owners continue to expand their reach into the vibrant China market, it is clear that China brand owners are now emerging as a force on the world stage, especially in the U.S. Developing relationships with China brand owners is an excellent opportunity to continue growing the China Brands Practice. With the Beijing office, we are not only enhancing service to our clients but also building our presence in China which is key to successfully developing these relationships,” said Christopher Woods.

Kilpatrick Townsend’s internationally recognized Intellectual Property Department was recently named the 2019 U.S. News Best Lawyers-Best Law Firm’s IP Litigation Firm of Year. The firm is also ranked among the top-three in the world for trademark law thought leaders by Who’s Who Legal.

Mr. Woods has over 30 years of experience representing and counseling U.S. and European clients who have business interests or commercial disputes relating to intellectual property in China and the surrounding area, and in acting for Asia-based clients with interests and disputes in the U.S. and Europe. He lived and worked in Hong Kong for many years as a locally-admitted IP attorney. Mr. Woods represented many of the world’s top technology companies in defense of their patents and trade secrets, and several of the world’s top 10 brand owners in dispute resolution matters throughout the region.

Mr. Woods has been recognized repeatedly as one of the top 20 trademark lawyers in the U.S. by World Trademark Review which also noted that “Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton is a premier trademark group in the United States with an incredible bench including experienced professionals with deep knowledge of all relevant substantive areas.” He has been recognized several times by: AsiaLaw as a Leading Lawyer in Asia; by the Euromoney Guide to the World’s Leading Trademark Practitioners; by the International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers; by the International Who’s Who of Trademark Lawyers; and by the LegalMedia Group China Guide. Mr. Woods has been named an “IP Star” in 2018 and the five years immediately preceding by Managing Intellectual Property magazine.

For more information about Kilpatrick Townsend, please visit: www.kilpatricktownsend.com.

Follow the firm on Twitter: @KTS_Law.

Media Contact: 
John Page
jpage@kilpatricktownsend.com
+1 404 536 7299

Share
DISCLAIMER

While we are pleased to have you contact us by telephone, surface mail, electronic mail, or by facsimile transmission, contacting Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP or any of its attorneys does not create an attorney-client relationship. The formation of an attorney-client relationship requires consideration of multiple factors, including possible conflicts of interest. An attorney-client relationship is formed only when both you and the Firm have agreed to proceed with a defined engagement.

DO NOT CONVEY TO US ANY INFORMATION YOU REGARD AS CONFIDENTIAL UNTIL A FORMAL CLIENT-ATTORNEY RELATIONSHIP HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED.

If you do convey information, you recognize that we may review and disclose the information, and you agree that even if you regard the information as highly confidential and even if it is transmitted in a good faith effort to retain us, such a review does not preclude us from representing another client directly adverse to you, even in a matter where that information could be used against you.

×

凯拓战略入驻北京,扩大亚洲市场

撰文:Kilpatrick Townsend

公司响应客户需求建立商标代理事务

亚特兰大和北京 ( 2019 年 1 月 14 日) 凯拓律师事务所今天宣布,公司已在中华人民共和国开设北京办事处。 凯拓的北京办事处将作为商标代理事务所运营,主要支持美国和欧洲品牌在中国市场的客户战略需求。该办事处还将使公司与北京地区的中国律师进行更密切的合作。

地址位于北京市朝阳区。

凯拓亚洲执业团队的共同带头人兼中国品牌业务负责人吴涛先生将担任北京办事处的管理合伙人。于爽律师和商标代理陈群帆也将担任该办公室的高级成员。中国品牌团队的其他高级成员,如丁文锦程文娴奎冠华,也将在北京办事处的扩展和支持中发挥积极作用。

“我们倾听客户的意见。我们的客户告诉我们,在北京开展业务非常重要。我们上海,东京和现在北京新开的办事处能使我们最好的为客户提供亚洲市场关键品牌问题的解决方案。我们在这三个主要亚洲市场的存在也有助于我们继续与该地区的法律顾问建立牢固的关系。”凯拓律师事务所主席亨利·沃克表示。

“凯拓长期代表着美国品牌所有者在中国的利益。虽然美国品牌所有者将继续扩大其在充满活力的中国市场的影响力,但很明显,中国品牌所有者现在正在成为世界舞台上的一股力量,特别是在美国。发展与中国品牌所有者的关系是继续扩展中国品牌团队的绝佳机会。通过北京办事处,我们不仅能为客户提供更好的服务,还能在中国建立业务,这是成功发展业务关系的关键。”吴涛说。

凯拓国际知名的知识产权部门最近被《美国新闻》(U.S. News)评为 2019 年《美国新闻》最佳律师 - 最佳律师事务所之年度知识产权诉讼事务所。 该公司还被《律界名人》(Who's Who Legal)评为全球商标法思想领袖的前三名。

吴先生在代理美国和欧洲客户在大中华区的知识产权商业利益或商业纠纷和提供相关咨询方面,以及代理亚洲客户在美国和欧洲的利益和纠纷方面,拥有超过 {ut1} 年的经验。他还曾在香港生活和工作多年,担任知识产权律师,工作受到当地认可。他曾代理许多世界顶级技术公司,保护他们的专利和商业秘密,并代理该地区几个世界前 10 强品牌所有人,处理他们的争议解决问题。

吴先生多次被《世界商标评论》(World Trademark Review)誉为美国 20位顶级商标律师之一。《世界商标评论》还指出“凯拓是美国首屈一指的商标事务所,拥有一支令人令人惊叹的团队,其中在所有相关的实质性领域有丰富经验和渊博知识的专业人士。”他已多次吴先生还多次被《亚洲法律》(Asialaw)誉为亚洲首席律师;受到 《欧洲货币》的《世界领先商标执业者指南》(Euromoney Guide to the World's Leading Trademark Practitioners)《国际商务律师名人录》(International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers) 《国际商标律师名人录》(International Who’s Who of Trademark Lawyers)《法律媒体集团中国指南》(LegalMedia Group China Guide)的认可。 自 2018 起,吴先生已连续五年被《知识产权管理》(Managing Intellectual Property)杂志评为“知识产权之星”。

有关凯拓的更多信息,请访问 www.kilpatricktownsend.com。www.kilpatricktownsend.com.

在 Twitter 上关注公司:@KTS_Law.

媒体联系: 
约翰·佩吉
jpage@kilpatricktownsend.com
+1 404 536 7299

分享
免责声明

我们很乐意接受您通过电话、平邮、电子邮件或者传真联系我们,但是联系凯拓国际律师事务所或者其任何律师并不构成律师-客户关系。律师-客户关系的建立需要考虑多种因素,包括可能的利益冲突。当您与本事务所已经同意开始执行确定的约定时,才能形成律师-客户关系。

在我们之间确定了律师-客户关系前,请不要将您视为保密的任何信息传达给我们。

如果您传达了该等信息,您确认我们可以审查并披露该等信息,您同意即使您将该等信息视为高度机密且为了雇用我们以善意的方式传播,该等审查不妨碍我们代理另外一名直接对您不利的客户,甚至将该等信息用于对您不利的事务中。

×
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software